I think they know

I think the zoo knows {d&k} are having a baby.  I mean, I had “the talk” with them right after we found out.  You know…the talk.  The one where they find out they are becoming big siblings.  Yeah, that talk.  And, they all seemed excited about it.  Uma kept getting distracted by a piece of lint blowing across the floor, but that’s to be expected.  It’s Uma.

Other than Uma, everyone handled it pretty well.  I’m actually not worried about the pups at all.  They adore kids.  When S was in town with her son, Pax, the pugs would lay outside his door until he fell asleep and they’d be right back there the next morning until he got up.  It was so cute.  When Pax was little, a pug guarded him in his carrier at all times.  Usually there was a pug on either side of him.  If one pug needed a drink, the other would stand at attention until the other pug came back.  They are ready.  And, as for Uma, she is clueless.  All.the.time.  So, she’ll be super excited every day she sees the baby.  Maybe she has short-term memory loss?  Each day is a brand new day to her.  Hmmm.  That could explain so many things.  It could also help me to understand why she hits her head on the back door handle every day, enough to give herself a bump and scar.

Anyways…So, the reason I think the zoo knows that we are having a baby is because they have all become a little extra cuddly lately.  Everyone wants to sleep on me.  Really, ON me.  Not just a head or paw touching me like they usually do.  Nope.  Entire pug/pugeranian/dog-cat body ON me.  Sometimes there are 3 animals that NEED to be on me.  Right now, mom.  Maybe they feel they need to get their cuddles in before the baby gets here.  I don’t know.  But it is definitely a new thing.  Oskar has been laying across my belly at night while I’m in bed and I think he’s crushing the baby.  She normally moves around a lot before I go to bed.  I think she’s having a late night (haha, late night = 9:30 for this girl) dance party in there.  Anyways, the last few nights while Oskar has been on me, no dance party.  I really think his little 20 pound body is crushing her.

And, as for the cats, they keep bringing me things.  Usually cat toys.  And, they are called dog-cats for a reason.  The two of them play fetch all the time.  But now, they aren’t bringing me the toys to throw.  They are little, slim-filled gifts.  Maybe for the baby?  I did wake up the other day with a cat toy on my belly.  Yep, that’s right.  And, it was under the covers.  How did a cat get the toy onto the bed and strategically place the toy under the covers on my ever-growing belly, that not too many things can balance on?!?  They must have had this feat planned out for a while.  As soon as I woke up and threw the covers off, I just started laughing. I actually had to wake K up to tell him because it was that funny.  Why do I have these furry little weirdos?!

So, what do you think?  Do you think my zoo knows?  If any of you have kids and a zoo, did your zoo act crazy too?

Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

Leave a Reply

