“Incident” Update

Hi everyone!

I just wanted to give a quick update on how Elvis, Uma, and my hand are doing since the “incident.”  Thanks for thinking of us all and for sending all the well wishes!  They’ve really helped!

First, Uma is doing great.  The huge bandage from her back leg is off (she actually took it off) and her wounds are almost completely healed.  She is back to running and playing in the backyard, as if nothing happened.

Elvis is doing much better.  He went to the vet today to get his stitches removed and a checkup.  The vet said everything looks great and is healing perfectly.  He still has to take it easy since he tore quite a bit of his shoulder/chest muscle.  That means, no running, jumping, and stairs.  I still carry him inside and outside since we have 2 steps there.  The vet said that since the stitches are out, he can go for short walks and start to ease back into his normal activity.  Well, the vet doesn’t know quite what Elvis’ normal activity is.  He’s a banshee, bouncing off the walls, doing spin-jumps off the couch, and practically climbing trees to get to the squirrels.  So, I’m going to continue to limit his activity until he’s no longer limping and in pain.  But, I’m just happy everything is healing well.  It will be nice to get him back to his normal self.  I hate it when my babies are in pain.

As for me, my hand is much, much better.  I have the splint off and the wound is almost healed closed.  It still hurts a little, so I’m trying not to use my ring and pinky fingers that much.  Typing is much easier without the splint on!  Haha.  I’m down to just a band-aid now and I can’t wait for the swelling and bruising to go away.

The pups are still afraid to go outside.  And, they do not like when we go out the front door.  They panic a little.  Today at the vet, Elvis barked at every dog that came into the waiting room, and he is never like that.  I feel so bad that they are afraid of dogs and going outside.  I wonder how long it will take them to forget?!

Anyways, we are all doing much better and we can’t wait until we’re back to 100%!  Thanks again for thinking of us!

 

Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

 

 

Leave a Reply

