Office Re-Do, DIY Part 2 – Fruit Crate Bookcase

And, we’re onto Part 2 of my Office Re-Do with another DIY for you.

Remember those free fruit crates?

Well, I took those fruit crates and turned them into this:

I made custom bookcases for less than $45. Can you believe it?!

Here’s the how-to:

1. Acquire crates. Call your local market, grocery store, or farmer’s market to see if they have any fruit crates that they don’t need. Ours either give them away or throw them out. They just happened to have 6 large crates (I mean large, 3′ x 2′) the day we called and said we could have them. Drive over, load up the truck, drive home, and admire your free crates!

2. Sand, sand, sand. These things were in bad shape. Giant splinters sticking out from everywhere.  And, I got to put my new, birthday sander to the test.  He did a great job!  I’ll keep him around.

3. Prime. We decided we were going to paint these crates instead of stain them. I wanted to add some color to my office. So, in order for the paint to stick to these crates, we primed them. It took a few hours to get in all the nooks and crannies of these crates, but well worth it in the end since it only took one coat of paint!

4. Paint. But, make sure when you open your paint can, you don’t spill on the driveway. Thankfully, it was on the driveway. Aaaannnnnddddd, it’s such a lovely color, I think it spruces up the cement, don’t you?!  I always recommend choosing an obnoxious color, like bright coral. There is nothing better than waking up to a flourescent bookcase!


5. Attach crates together. The crates are pretty heavy, so we were a little concerned with them toppling over, once we added the third crate. So, we braced them together with 2 1 x 4s along the back. We had these lying around the house, so it didn’t cost us any extra for the project. You can also screw each crate into each other. I wanted to be able to move the crates, so only screwing the brace along the back worked for us.


6. Place in room. These were made for my office, to hold books and yarn. Be careful when bringing these huge bookcases into the house because there will be pugs below you. Even if you don’t have pugs, still be aware of the pugs!

7. Begin filling with your treasures. No, not those treasures. These treasures:

So, there you have it. A super cheap, super easy DIY Fruit Crate Bookcase. I hope you enjoy making yours as much {d&k} did. And, if you have any questions throughout your DIY, let me know!

Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

One response

Leave a Reply

