Office Re-Do, DIY Part 1 – Chevron Striped Dresser

Drumroll please….

It’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for.  Wait, it’s not?!  Why not?!  You mean, your world doesn’t revolve around my blog?!  Hrmph.

That’s okay.  I forgive you.  I’ll still give you the DIY Dresser Makeover.

How cute is that!? I am in love with it and now I have the chevron bug. I want to paint chevron stripes on everything. This could be dangerous.

Okay, here’s the how-to:

1.  You’ll need to remove the hardware and you may need to sand your dresser.  I did not because I wanted the chippy-paint look.

2.  Make your grid.  You will be basically making a giant grid on the front of the dresser.  You’ll need a measuring tape, pencil, and painter’s tape.  First, you’ll measure the height (top to bottom of painted area) of dresser.  Figure out how many stripes you want.  My dresser measured 30″ high, so I decided 10, 3″ stripes would be perfect.  Next, measure the stripes down each side of the dresser and connect those lines.  Then, measure the width of the dresser (across the painted area).  While measuring, make a mark at the 1/3, 1/2, and 2/3 spots.  Do the same towards the bottom of the dresser.  Then, connect those lines.  The spots where the horizontal and vertical lines cross will be the points of your chevron.  Once you have measured and made your grid, you can begin to tape.

3.  Begin taping.  The taping was the hardest part for me.  You have to remember when to tape inside the lines or on the outside of the lines.  The stripe that will remain the dresser color will always be taped on the inside of the lines.  So, as you can see below, the first set of tape will be painted white and the second set, that is inside the lines, will remain black.  Also, when taping, you need to measure the distance between your set of tape to make sure it is consistent.  My lines were 3″, so once I made the first set of lines, I measured the inside, starting at the beginning, each point, and the end to make sure they were all 3″.  When measuring the tape set of the inside lines, you’ll measure from the outside of each piece of tape.

4. Paint. Now, the hard part is over and you can begin painting. I did one coat and I wanted brush strokes, so I made sure my brush only had a little paint on it and I dabbed most of the paint off on a paper towel. Once you are finished painting, let dry.

5. Remove tape. Once dry, remove the tape. Since I only did one light coat, the stripes were dry after about 10 minutes. Next, put the hardware back on. And, admire your new chevron striped dresser.

I hope you enjoyed my little DIY Chevron Striped Dresser tutorial. Stop back tomorrow for the DIY Fruit Crate Bookcase.

Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

One response

Leave a Reply

