Weekend Recap

Hi everyone!

Can you believe it’s May already?!  Where did April go?!

It’s funny…everyone here (in Dallas) keeps talking about summer coming, summer vacation, summer this and summer that.  It’s quite confusing because it’s warm here.  In the 80s and 90s already.  And to me, that’s summer.  I feel like it is summer already just because of the weather.  When people talk about summer, as in it is coming up, I have to stop and think about what month we are in.  Now that it is May, I feel a little better about thinking we’re in the summer months.  But man, in March and April, I was very confused!  I’m glad that’s over!!

 

{d&k} had a great weekend!!

Friday, we hopped on a bus with Alumni from the Class of 1954 (!!!) and went to the Rangers game in Arlington.  We had a great time and the Alumni and their wives were fantastic!  I even made a new friend, Sarah.  We went to the bathroom together (arm in arm – which I was glad about because she was pretty frail) and I even considered asking her for makeup advice.  Her coral lipstick was, um, bright!  Yes, bright.  The guys had their share of beer and hot dogs, {d&k} shared our popcorn with some grumpy little men behind us, and {d&k} spent the rest of the evening laughing because one of the ushers asked me if I worked for their “home.”  Haha.  I knew that’s what it would look like!  We didn’t have any problems until we tried to get all 29 of us back to the bus after the game.  It was like herding cats!  I wish we could have strapped those monkey backpack leashes used for kids on their backs.  It would have made things much, much easier.  It probably would have looked like I was on a dog sled, being pulled by grumpy monkey tails!  Haha, grumpy monkey tails.  Say that three times fast.

I think everyone had a great time and we were all pretty exhausted by the time we got back on the bus to head home.  We didn’t get back to the school until after midnight and I’m pretty sure all the Alumni took a little cat nap on the drive home.  Poor guys, not used to being up so late!

Saturday, k had his Alumni Crawfish Boil event at the school.  I volunteered to work the registration table with people from his office (Actually, let me clarify.  K volun-told me to work the registration table. Thanks k!), and I stood in the 95 degree sun for 3 hours and ended up getting burnt to a crisp.  Only on the backs of my legs.  In the knee-pits.  Wonderful.

Anyways, they had a great turn out and everyone had a fantastic time.  The place smelled awful…like dead seafood. Oh wait, it was dead seafood.  Ew.  And watching everyone rip those little crawfish bodies in half (with the antennae still on) and suck the “meat” out of the body and then the head, made me want to throw up.  Every.single.time.  And, someone chased me with a crawfish.  He almost lost his life.  Almost.  You’ve been warned, buddy.

We had our pretty normal Sunday.  Church, errands, and then we went to a cookout at our friend, Jess’s house.  We had a great time hanging out, ate a lot of yummy food, and {d&k} kicked Jess & B’s tails in corn hole.  Woot, woot!

 

Here are a few photos I managed to snap from this weekend:

   

   

   

1 – Our ride to the ballpark!  It smelled so bad.  A little like a cat litter box and a little like sweaty people.  Yum.
2 – Yep, we passed a lot of guns stores on the way there.  We took the back roads because the highway had a lot of traffic.  It was a much scarier route than I would have preferred.  We also saw lots of houses with chickens in their front yards.  Chickens in backyards = farm.  Chickens in front yards = ghetto.  Now you know.
3 – The stadium was huge!  I think the announcer said they had a sellout and there were 45,000 people there.  Crazy!
4 – They had a fantastic fireworks show after the game.  I love me some fireworks!!
5 – Look at all those nasty little crawfish.  They were in coolers and were shoveled out with this giant scoop.  Ew.
6 – I feel like he’s staring at me.  Help me! Help me! 

 

Random observations from the game:
* It is weird being at a baseball game in April when it’s 90 degrees.  I love baseball, but in Ohio I wouldn’t go to a game until at least the end of June or July because it had to be warm.
* When Elvis Andrus (Ranger player) got up to bat, I yelled for him because he shares his name with the pug….and then k noticed that his at bat was being sponsored by Natural Balance Dog Food…which is what pug Elvis eats.  Coincidence?!
* In Texas, at a baseball game, in the 5th inning everyone sings “Deep in the Heart of Texas.”  Weird.  Very, very weird.
* I liked going out with all of these older people because they thought I was much younger than I really am.  I was told I look 27 (YES!) and I was told I look like a college student (Even better!!).  I’ll take it!

 

Well, there you have it…our past weekend.  I hope you enjoyed your weekend and I’ll tell you later what we’re planning for this weekend 😉

Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

 

 

Leave a Reply

