I swear that door was just open a minute ago…

Ever walked into a screen door?  You have?  Well, don’t feel so bad.  Almost every member of {d&k}s zoo has too.  This weekend.  In fact, it may have all happened in the same day.

Our french doors leading from the family room to the backyard did not have a screen door and it’s been so nice here that I told k I wish I could open those doors to get some fresh air in.  So, k jumps at the opportunity to be handy and takes off for Home Depot. He comes home with a lovely new sliding screen door and puts them up in no time.  We had the doors open, a nice breeze was coming in, and everything was wonderful.

Until I let the pups out.

That’s not the bad part.

The bad part is when I tried to let the pups in.

I was standing at the screen door, calling them, getting ready to open it when Elvis comes barreling around the corner of the house, full speed, and slams right into the screen door, tearing the screen at the bottom.  Then he stands there, shakes his head, and tried to come through it.  Again.

Meanwhile, k is yelling at me because I didn’t have the door open.  I don’t want bugs in the house.  I though the pugeranian might be smart enough to know when the door is open or closed and not try to run right through it.  I was wrong.  And k was mad.

So, take #2.  Again, all the pups are outside and it’s dark out now.  I call the pups and this time Uma (the greyhound.  the 75 pound, all muscle greyhound) comes running around the corner.

And straight through the screen.

And into the family room.

And then the yelling began.  K was really mad that time.  Again, I thought I had time in between calling them and opening the door.  Apparently not.

Now, Uma is very cautious when coming in or out of the door.  She stands there and hesitates for a minute, just to make sure the screen is open. Ha.  Too bad it took her running through it and k yelling to understand the difference between an open and closed door.

I’m pretty sure another one of the zoo members went through the screen at some point, but since it was completely torn across the bottom and up the side, who knows who or what came and went as they pleased.

So, today k is out buying a dog-strength screen to replace the current screen.  Fingers crossed that no more members of the zoo go through the screen and that k doesn’t have to yell anymore.  Fingers crossed.

 

Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

 

 

3 responses

  1. Ha! We have the same problem! Ours is dented from Ollie running into it also! Although we usually just leave the door open and let the bugs in. He is in and out, in and out all the time and it is just too much trouble to constantly open the door!

  2. Home Depot
    30 in. x 33 in. Steel Bronze Pet Grille

    Model # 720028

    Store SKU # 237788

    $31.00 /EA-Each
    Try this, it worked for young children too, as I recall

    dw

Leave a Reply

