Projects, Vol. 1

I love projects.  Lately, I’ve been finding inspiration on Pinterest.  Haha, go figure.

Anyways, I revamped this plain lamp shade ($8 from Target) by hand writing the lyrics from one of my favorite songs.  It was super easy and since it’s hand written, it does not have to be perfect.  Clearly, mine is not.  And I’m ok with that.  If you are a perfectionist, you may want to use a stencil.  K really wanted me to use a stencil.  Hah.  No thank you.  I like the imperfection of my own hand writing.  Plus, a stencil doesn’t really go with our home.  Everything is miss-matched, antique, hand-me-downs.  Imperfectly perfect for {d&k}.  A stencil would throw that off.

Anyways, here is the lamp shade.  Pretty cute, huh?  And, here is a the song that inspired it.
   

Next, I revamped this wooden cubby that k bought me a few years ago.  I think it is adorable but I had a hard time trying to figure out what to use it for.  The cubbies are pretty small and I could never find the perfect spot for their piece of furniture.  And then, it hit me…why not use it as a tea-cup holder for my slowly growing tea-cup collection?!  So, after a little revamping, that’s what I did.
Here’s how the project went down:

1.  Original Cubby:

2. Remove the backing, so I can hang it on the wall.

3. Prime it!
   

4. Paint it!  I gave the cubby 2 really good coats and then went back and touched up any areas that needed it.
   

6. Take inside.  Hang on wall.  Add tea cups.  Admire your hard work.

* Note – If your husband gets upset that you spray painted on the grass, remind him it could be worse.  You could have spray painted on the patio!

What projects have you been working on lately?

Thanks for stopping by!
Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

Leave a Reply

