K’s Keepers, Vol. 2

It’s that time again…
Time to share another recipe k loves!

This week’s recipe:

Fiesta Chicken (k said, “So it’s party chicken?”  Yes, k it is.  It’s like a little party in your mouth.  Enjoy.  This may be one of my favorite dishes I’ve ever made).

Ok, back to the recipe…

Fiesta Chicken
(Serves 4) 

4 Chicken Breasts
1 Can Fat Free Cream of Chicken Soup
1 Can Mexicorn, drained (corn with peppers)
1 Can Black Beans, drained
1 c. Salsa
2 Tbsp. Taco Seasoning
2 c. Cooked Rice
Cheese to top

1 – Place chicken breast in bottom of slow cooker.  Top with soup.

2- Add mexicorn black beans, salsa, and taco seasoning and stir lightly.  (It will not look very appetizing at this point.  It slightly resembles cat food.  But trust me, it’s delicious!)
    

3 – Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours or high 3-4 hours.

4 – When ready to serve, stir in cooked rice.  Top with cheese.
 

* I made a few adjustments to this recipe, but I wanted to give you the original also.  Instead of cooked rice, I used uncooked Spanish rice.  I set the crock pot to high for 3 hours, then added the uncooked rice, and then turned the crock pot to low for another 3 hours.  I did this because there was a lot of liquid in the crock pot and I was worried the rice wouldn’t soak it up and I didn’t want this dish to be soupy.  It turned out great and I’m glad I added the uncooked rice.  

Cranberry Margaritas
(Serves 4)

1/2 c. Cranberry Juice
1/2 c. Tequila
1/4 c. Triple Sec
1/4 c. Lime Juice

1 – Mix all ingredients together and serve over ice.  Enjoy!!
  

Let me know what you think about the Party-In-Your-Mouth Chicken and Cranberry Margaritas.  I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!

Enjoy your dinner!
{d&k}

 

Leave a Reply

