Bad blogger, bad

I’m a bad blogger.  Ok, maybe not a bad blogger, but definitely a bad photographer.  We had a fantastic weekend and I didn’t take a single picture.  Bad d, bad.  I’m sorry.  I’m still going to tell you about {d&k}s weekend, but you’ll just have to imagine what it looked like.  You can do it!

On Friday {d&k} met some friends, the newlyweds, in their neck-of-the-woods and went to a very yummy pizza place.  We’ve discovered a lot of restaurants in the D are BYOB.  Weird, I know.  And, unless you are in on this, you wouldn’t know to bring something to drink.  Thankfully, our friends were in on this mean-little-joke-restaurants-like-to-play and brought some wine.  YES!  So we enjoyed our pizzas and wine, courtesy of the newlyweds, and had a great meal.  Then, it was off to heaven.  Ok, not really heaven, just a little wine & chocolate bar called Chocolate Secrets.  De.lic.ious.  They make all of their own chocolates, cake, and ice cream.  {d&k} had a huge hunk of chocolate raspberry cake and k tried a pb&j chocolate and I had a salted caramel.  I was going to share mine with k, but then I ate it all.  Oops.  Maybe next time, k.  k also had a beer float.  (Yes, we had a fat weekend folks, deal).  It was vanilla ice cream with a vanilla porter beer.  It was really good!  I think we’ll be making that at home very soon.

On Saturday, {d&k} had a laid back day.  We got a few things accomplished around the house and then spent the rest of the afternoon cuddling with the pups in bed and watching a movie.  Then it was off to the Catholic Charities Gala.  There were thousands of people there, dressed very fancy.  People were arriving in limos!  I felt a little out-of-place.  Especially with all the ball gowns and sequins.  I sort of felt like I was at prom, only my pink poufy prom dress would not have cut it here.  It was at the Hilton downtown and this place has a beautiful ballroom!  And, the food was delicious (which to me is surprising…I’ve eaten a lot of catered food and it’s normally not that great).  The evening started off with a live band and cocktail hour.  There was a silent auction during cocktail hour and a live auction during dinner.  There were several packages that went for $10,000!  The Catholic Charities made out on this event!  And then, the evening’s entertainment consisted of a performance by Martin Short.  Yep, that’s right.  Amazing.  He was hilarious.  He even did Fronk from Father of the Bride.  Loved it.  It was a great evening and {d&k} had a blast.  I even snuck in a bit of people-watching, which you know I love!

On Sunday, it was so nice here that we spent the entire day outside.  It was awesome!  We did have to sneak grocery shopping in there, but we did that first thing so as to get it out-of-the-way.  Then we loaded up the pups and took them to the dog park.  It was packed and Elvis was in heaven.  So many packs to run with.  He was being chased by so many different dogs, it was hard to keep track of him.  But, he’s a good little boy and likes to come check in and let us know he’s ok.  Sometimes he runs up to us, then runs after a pup, then back to us.  I think he is showing us which pup he’s playing with.  Maybe to see if we approve?  Hah.  K thinks it is so we’ll watch him.  Either way, I like that he checks in 🙂  During a trip to the water fountain, all three dogs had to take a dip in the mud-puddle that had formed near the fountain.  That was fun.  We spent the rest of the time there trying to get them to stay in the sun to dry off.  Impossible.  I felt bad for the parents of this all-white bulldog who decided to lay and then roll around in the puddle.  He was no longer white.  After the dog park we took the pups to the trail we discovered last weekend and we hoped to stop at the restaurant that backs up to the trail.  Well, it was packed.  Everyone was out to enjoy the nice weather.  So, we didn’t get to stay and eat with the pups.  Maybe next time.  We did pick up dinner on the way home and we sat outside on our patio and enjoyed our food.  I still can’t believe it is the end of January and we were sitting outside for dinner.  This is my kind of “winter.”

So, I hope you enjoyed hearing about our weekend, and not looking at pictures.  I promise, I will be better next time!  I will take more pictures!

Thanks for stopping by!  Enjoy your day,
{d&k}

Leave a Reply

